New Zealand Cross Country Championships

Scottish swarm the podium

Event date: 30/07/2017 Export event

It was a hugely successful weekend for Scottish athletes at the New Zealand Cross Country Championships.Ruby Muir won the senior women's race and Ayesha Shafi was 15th.

Nick Horspool (4th), Scott Russell (6th), Dan Jones (8th) and Kristian Day (11th) combined to win the Senior men's team title from Auckland. Niam Macdonald supported the team in 19th place.

Stephen Day won the master's men's race and Ben Winder won the M35 race. Both were part of the winning Wellington team in their race. Alasdair Saunders (13th) and Paul Barwick (35th) supported the team too.

Peter Stevens won the M50 race, with Micheal Wray in second and James Turner (11th) joining those two as part of the winning Wellington team. Phil Sadgrove supported the team in 16th place. 

Lindsay Barwick was 8th overall in the masters women's race and part of the winning Wellington team. 

Athletics Wellington won every grade where it fielded a team. Next year, with Cross Country Champs happening here in Wellington, we just need more teams!

More links

Author: Stephen Day
Rate this article:
No rating

Categories: Notice Board, Cross country, National ChampionshipsNumber of views: 294


Please login or register to post comments.

News Search